Bike/Pedestrian Lanes On CPP Campus

The pictures above show the recently painted lanes meant to separate cyclists from pedestrian at Cal Poly Pomona. I have been using the path in these pictures for about five years and I can definitely tell that there is a big difference in pedestrian traffic now that these lanes are in place. When I say traffic, I don’t mean that the area has become congested. I mean that the flow of students and staff has become more organized.

At Cal Poly Pomona, there are a lot of people riding skateboards, longboards and bikes. Often, they are not traveling very cautiously. I’ve seen a couple of accidents myself and the damage done can be quite bad. These lanes are a simple solution to separate ordinary pedestrians from those on wheels. Not everyone on campus follows the simple directions of the lanes, but the vast majority seems to understand what they are meant for.

I can only wish that people payed more attention to the bright red signs also posted around campus where wheeled traveling is forbidden.

2 thoughts on “Bike/Pedestrian Lanes On CPP Campus

  1. Its true I notice so many people on bikes and skateboards around campus. Its great to know that the efforts are being made for making the campus more safe and accessible for students. But I am definitely not sure of the bright red signs you are talking about, I am assuming its something different than the stop signs for traffic? But either way its always nice to see the campus as a whole understanding the importance of accessibility.

  2. Are there even bike lanes/pedestrian walkways on campus!? (just kidding). I think there should be more visible signs on where bicyclists should bike and pedestrians should walk.

Leave a comment